Skip to content

The Vercel dashboard lets you manage all your current and previous deployments. To manage a deployment, go to your project from the Vercel dashboard. Then click the Deployments tab from the top navigation.

View all of your current and previous deployments.

Vercel CLI and Vercel API also provide alternative ways to manage your deployments. You can find a full list of the commands available in the Vercel CLI Reference, along with the deployments section of the Vercel API Reference.

You can filter your deployments based on branch and status. Go to the Deployments tab inside your Project dashboard. A drop-down for Status filters the deployments according to the desired status code.

Filter and sort Deployments for a Vercel project.

These are the following Status values:

  • Ready: A successful deployment
  • Error: An unsuccessful or failed deployment
  • Building: A deployment currently being built
  • Queued: A deployment waiting to be built
  • Canceled: A deployment that was canceled

You will also find a drop-down search menu with a placeholder text for "All Branches". This helps you select any deployed branch from the drop-down or filter by typing in the search box.

When you update your Project, Vercel automatically redeploys your application to integrate new and existing changes. You update an application by editing, adding, or deleting its contents.

However, there can be situations (e.g. bad cached data) where you need to Redeploy your application to fix issues manually. This section contains information about how and when you need to redeploy your application to Vercel.

The Deployments tab lists all the previously deployed builds. Click the vertical ellipsis () icon where you will find the option to Redeploy that specific build once again.

Redeploy your previous deployment manually.

This takes you to a popup window that prompts a Redeploy message. To surface the default behavior and provide granular control, you can now find an option for including the Build Cache when redeploying an existing Deployment.

Option to confirm redeploy to production.

Other than your custom needs to redeploy, it's always recommended to redeploy your application to Vercel for the following use cases:

There may be times when you need to promote an existing preview deployment to production. For example, if you need to roll back the code served to your visitors to a previous version without changing the source code or if you are in a situation where you need to use a branch that isn't set as the Production branch temporarily.

This section contains information about how to promote an existing Preview deployment to production on Vercel.

The Deployments tab lists all the previously deployed builds. Click the vertical ellipsis () icon where you will find the option to Promote to Production that specific build.

Promote your previous deployment to production.

This takes you to a popup window that prompts a Promote to Production message which will include the domain(s) that will be linked to the build once confirmed. Please note that if you have different Environment Variables set for preview and production deployments then the variables used will change from preview to those you have linked to the Production environment.

Option to confirm promote to production.

  • Only deployments created via Git can be promoted to production
  • The deployment will be rebuilt using Production domains and environment variables, you cannot use your Preview environment variables in a Production deployment

If you no longer need a specific deployment of your app, you can delete it from your project. Click the vertical ellipsis for the deployment you want to delete from the Deployments tab. Then click the Inspect Deployment option, which directs you to the details of that deployment.

Inspect a deployment to proceed with the details.

From here, you can Delete the deployment. However, deleting a deployment prevents you from instant reverting and might break the links used in integrations, such as the ones in the pull requests of your Git provider.

Delete a deployment that you no longer need.