To deploy on Vercel, you need to create a Project. A Project is a logical structure that groups deployments and custom domains. Each project can be associated to a GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket repository.

Creating a Project

You can create a new project from the Vercel Dashboard by clicking on the New Project button.

Creating a new project from the Vercel Dashboard.

You can either import from an existing Git repository or use one of our templates.

Project Settings

To edit project settings, choose a project from the dashboard:

Selecting the project from the Vercel Dashboard.

Then, select the Settings tab:

Selecting the Settings tab from the Project Overview page.

General Settings

Build & Development Settings and Root Directory

You can edit build and development settings as well as the root directory settings. Check out our Build Step documentation to learn more.

Environment Variables

You can configure Environment Variables directly from Project Settings. Check out the Environment Variables section of our Build Step documentation to learn more.

Only applied starting from your next deployment

As with other project settings, the changes you make to this setting will only be applied starting from your next deployment.

Note: When you toggle this setting, none of your existing deployments will be affected. If you’d like to make the source code or logs private on your existing deployments, the only option is to delete them.

Custom Domains

You can add custom domains for each project. Check out our Custom Domains documentation to learn more.

Git Integration

To edit your project’s Git Integration settings, select the Git Integration menu item from your project settings page.

Selecting the Git Integration menu item from the project settings page.

If you haven’t set up your Git Integration for GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket yet, you can do so from here.

Setting up the Git Integration.

If you have already set up your Git Integration, you can specify which Git repository to connect your project to by entering the repository name.

Specify the Git repository for your project.

If you’d like to disconnect your project from a Git repository, empty the field and save it.

Disconnect Your Personal Account or Team

If you’d like to disconnect your personal account or team from GitHub, GitLab, or Bitbucket, follow the directions here:

Deploy Hooks

Vercel supports deploy hooks, which are unique URLs that accept HTTP POST requests and trigger deployments. Check out our Deploy Hooks documentation to learn more.

Security Settings

To edit your project’s security settings, select the Security menu item from your project settings page.

Selecting the Security menu item from the Project Settings page.

Logs and Source Protection

By default, the paths mentioned below can only be accessed by you and members of your Vercel team. Turning off Logs and Source Protection will make them publicly accessible.

  • /_src: Displays the source code and build output.
  • /_logs: Displays the build logs.
Warning: Do not edit this setting if you don’t want your source code or logs to be publicly accessible.

Password Protection

Note: This feature is not available for personal accounts. Only teams can opt into this feature, and the team must be on the Pro or Enterprise plan.

By using Password Protection, you can ensure that visitors of your Preview Deployments must enter a password in order to gain access.

Teams can opt into using this feature by enabling it from the "Optional" badge and paying $150 per month. Once you opt in, you can use it across other projects in the same team:

Enabling Password Protection.

Warning: After enabling the feature, one month has to pass before it can be disabled again.

Protecting Preview Deployments

To use this feature, turn on the toggle and specify the visitor password.

Turning on the toggle and specifying the visitor password.

After clicking Save, all Preview Deployments (existing and future ones) of this project will immediately be protected with a password. If you try to access the page, you’ll be presented with this screen:

Password is required.

After entering the password, the visitor will be redirected to the deployment. Also, a cookie will be set in the visitor’s browser, giving them access to all Preview Deployments of the project.

Protecting Production Deployments

Protecting Production Deployment.

To protect Production Deployments in addition to Preview Deployments, check “Also protect my Production Deployment" and click Save.

Details

  • If you change the password, visitors who have previously entered the password (and therefore have the cookie set) will need to re-enter the password.
  • If you disable the protection, all existing deployments of the project will become unprotected.
  • If you disable the protection and then enable it, visitors who have the cookie set will continue to be able to access the deployments without re-entering the password.
  • You can use Password Protection in conjunction with SSO Protection.

Disabling the Feature

To opt out from this feature, you can do so from your team’s SettingsBilling page. Click Edit next to Password Protection and follow the instructions:

Disable the Password Protection Feature.

SSO Protection

Note: This feature is not available for personal accounts. Teams can opt into this feature by contacting our sales team.

By using SSO Protection, you can ensure that visitors of your Preview Deployments must log in with a personal Vercel account that is a member of your team to gain access.

Teams can opt into using this feature by clicking the "Optional" badge and contacting our sales team.

Enabling SSO Protection.

Protecting Preview Deployments

Once your team has access to the feature, turn on the toggle to enable it.

Turning on the toggle.

After clicking Save, all Preview Deployments (existing and future ones) will immediately require logging in with a personal Vercel account, and the account must be a member of your team. If you try to access the page, you’ll be presented with this screen:

Logging in with Vercel is required.

If a visitor logs in with a personal Vercel account that’s a member of your team, the visitor will be redirected to the deployment. Also, a cookie will be set in the visitor’s browser, giving them access to Preview Deployments.

Note: If you’ve also enabled Password Protection, the login UI will look like this:

Logging in using a password or with Vercel is required.

Protecting Production Deployments

Protecting Production Deployment.

To protect Production Deployments in addition to Preview Deployments, check “Also protect my Production Deployment" and click Save.

Details

  • If you disable the protection, all existing deployments of the project will become unprotected.
  • If you disable the protection and then enable it, visitors who previously logged into the deployment with Vercel will continue to be able to access the page without logging in again.
  • If an account is removed from the team, then that account can no longer be used to access the deployment. The cookie will also become invalid.
  • You can use SSO Protection in conjunction with Password Protection.

Deleting a Project

Warning: Deleting your project will also delete the deployments and domains within it. If you have any deployments that are assigned to a custom domain and do not want them to be removed, make sure to deploy and assign them to the custom domain under a different project first.

To delete a project, choose a project from the dashboard:

Selecting the project from the Vercel Dashboard.

Then, select the Settings tab:

Selecting the Settings tab from the Project Overview page.

Next, select Advanced from the menu.

Selecting the Advanced menu item from the Project Settings page.

You’ll see the Delete Project section. Confirm that you'd like to delete the project and click the Delete button.

The Delete Project section.